Feedback / Suggestions



Establishment of University

           Demand for an exclusive University for Agricultural Sciences for Kalyana-Karnataka region was felt almost a decade back (Annexure I) owing to inimitable climatic conditions and farming activities. The Kalyana-Karnataka region comprising Bidar, Kalaburgi, Raichur, Ballari, Koppal and Yadgir districts (Map), an agrarian area with an irrigation potentiality of 12 lakh hectares through Tungabhadra, Krishna, Karanja, Mullamari, Hirehalla, Bennethore and other irrigation projects, spanning a total geographical area of 44.96 lakh hectares accounting 33.60 per cent of the geographical area of the state, of which nearly 68 per cent is under cultivation and has a unique combination of medium (32.42%) and large farmers (36.69%) bestowed with rich natural resources especially for agricultural development. The initiation for new Agricultural University at Raichur began through a letter by Government of Karnataka (No. AHD:165:UAS:99 dated:17-12-1999) directing University of Agricultural Sciences, Dharwad to submit a feasibility report on the proposal. An expert committee was constituted (No.AO/Est-V/LC/4778-B/99-00; dated: 5-1-2000) which not only realized the need for new Agricultural University but also recommended the proposal.  

       Raichur is privileged of being an oldest establishment for agricultural research. In 1932 an Agricultural Research Station was established by the then Nizam’s Government of Hyderabad with a mandate to carryout research on dry land farming. After the reorganization of states in the country, Raichur was identified as the main research station for oilseeds. With the establishment of State Agricultural University in Karnataka during 1964 at Bengaluru, it was elevated to Regional Research Station with a jurisdiction of five districts of Northern Karnataka. Agricultural Engineering Institute (AEI) was added to Raichur campus in 1969 to offer Diploma course in Agricultural-Engineering which, in 1987, was upgraded to the status of College of Agricultural Engineering with up-gradation of Diploma to B.Tech degree programme. In 1984 and 2000, Colleges of Agriculture were started / established, one at Raichur and the other at Bheemarayanagudi (Shahapur Taluk of Kalaburgi District) respectively, with an intake capacity of 30 students for each college. However, with establishment of University of Agricultural Sciences, Dharwad during 1986, Raichur became the component campus under UAS, Dharwad. Intriguingly, Raichur continued its privilege of being the second largest campus and a major hub of education under UAS, Dharwad. The Post-graduate degree programme leading to Master’s degree in eight departments was started in 1995 with an intake capacity of five students for each department every year. In 1994, Krishi Vigyana Kendra (KVK), a component of UAS, Dharwad but funded and monitored by ICAR, started functioning in the campus and received the best Krishi Vigyan Kendra National Award by ICAR for the year 2007-08, thus completing all the necessities of Teaching, Research and Extension. During 2008-09 and 2009-10, Post Graduate program began in other departments, thus making a total of 16 departments offering PG programme.

Last Updated: 19-11-2020 02:34 PM Updated By: Admin

Disclaimer :

Please note that this page also provides links to the websites / web pages of Govt. Ministries/Departments/Organisations.The content of these websites are owned by the respective organisations and they may be contacted for any further information or suggestion

Website Policies

  • Copyright Policy
  • Hyperlinking Policy
  • Security Policy
  • Terms & Conditions
  • Privacy Policy
  • Help
  • Screen Reader Access
  • Guidelines


  • Last Updated​ :
  • Visitors Counter :
  • Version :
CONTENT OWNED AND MAINTAINED BY : University of Agricultural Sciences Raichur
Designed, Developed and Hosted by: Center for e-Governance - Web Portal, Government of Karnataka © 2024, All Rights Reserved.

Best viewed in Chrome v-87.0.4280.141, Microsoft Edge v-87.0.664.75, Firefox -v-83.0 Browsers. Resolution : 1280x800 to 1920x1080