Feedback / Suggestions

About Directorate of Research



 Dr. B. K. Desai

Director of Research

University of Agricultural Sciences

Raichur – 584 104 (Karnataka), India

Mob. No: 9480696304

Phone No: 08532-220154

Fax No: 08532-220181



Mandate and Mission of Research

               The University of Agricultural Sciences (UAS), Raichur established in view to cater the needs of farming community in Kalyana – Karnataka. The Jurisdiction of the University covers 22% of the total geographical (19.9 m. ha), 31 % of total cultivated and 20% of the irrigated area of Karnataka state. It spreads over seven districts of North Eastern Karnataka (Bidar, Kalaburagi, Yadgir, Raichur, Koppal, Ballari and Vijayanagar). A number of agricultural, horticultural and forestry species represent the rich biodiversity of the area. There are three major irrigation projects viz., the Tungabhadra, the Upper Krishna Project and the Karanja in the region which provide irrigation to about 12 lakh ha accounting for 18 per cent of the total cultivated area of the state. The research activities of the university focus on conducting and disseminate research on basic, strategic, applied and problem oriented. During last ten years there were total 591 research projects funded by University, NAIP, ICAR, DST, DBT, CSIR, CIMMYT, Ministry of Agriculture GOI, Govt. of Karnataka etc with total worth of Rs. 14155.63 lakhs. The total 56 projects worth of Rs. 65.895 Crores was sanctioned under RKVY during last ten years.

            The climate of the region is subtropical endowed with variety of climate, soil and crops. It is located at 1606’N and 7706’E with an altitude of 398.9 m above mean sea level. The university covers three agro climatic zones of Karnataka North – Eastern dry zone, North Eastern Transitional zone and Northern dry zone. The research needs of the region are catered through 13 research stations, 17 All India coordinated projects and one volunteer centres besides other national and international projects. Directorate of Research also made MoU with Karnataka State Biofuel Board and established Bio-fuel Park at Thinthini, Yadgir district.

            Directorate of research has involved into MoU’s with several National and International institutes including ICRISAT, IRRI, ICAR, CIMMYT, IICPT, Barwale foundation, CRIDA Hyderabad. University has also MoU with International Universities for collaborating research activities. After inception of UAS, Raichur has released 28 varieties of pigeonpea, paddy, sunflower, groundnut, greengram etc. The technologies developed by university viz., transplanted pigeonpea, e-SAP, Integrated Farming System, Precision Farming, Direct Seeded Rice, Value Addition and Food Processing, Farming Machinery, Mechanized Transplanting of paddy etc. have spread to large area within ten years.  For More Information....

Last Updated: 26-05-2024 11:05 AM Updated By: Admin

Disclaimer :

Please note that this page also provides links to the websites / web pages of Govt. Ministries/Departments/Organisations.The content of these websites are owned by the respective organisations and they may be contacted for any further information or suggestion

Website Policies

  • Copyright Policy
  • Hyperlinking Policy
  • Security Policy
  • Terms & Conditions
  • Privacy Policy
  • Help
  • Screen Reader Access
  • Guidelines


  • Last Updated​ :
  • Visitors Counter :
  • Version :
CONTENT OWNED AND MAINTAINED BY : University of Agricultural Sciences Raichur
Designed, Developed and Hosted by: Center for e-Governance - Web Portal, Government of Karnataka © 2024, All Rights Reserved.

Best viewed in Chrome v-87.0.4280.141, Microsoft Edge v-87.0.664.75, Firefox -v-83.0 Browsers. Resolution : 1280x800 to 1920x1080